Wisconsin Gaming Group - Oshkosh - NE Wisconsin
It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:32 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: M:tG Commander
PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 12:57 pm 
Polyhedral Underground Master
Polyhedral Underground Master

What type of gamer are you?: Card
I know there are quite a few people in the group that are familiar with Magic the Gathering. And I also know there are a lot of negative connotations that go along with the game. I've been enjoying it for a few years now, but mostly from a casual aspect, gaming with my kids and some other RPG friends of mine. I went to a few Friday Night Magic nights but those really seem to be all about finding the "best" net-deck and having a lot of expensive cards. I much prefer a more friendly, casual experience with Magic the Gathering.

Enter Commander, or Elder Dragon Highlander (EDH). Commander is designed to be a social, fun, interactive multi-player gaming experience. It is NOT designed to be a competitive, win at all costs game. There are plenty of competitive formats out there, such as Standard, Modern, Legacy and Vintage, where you can be a spike and make little kids cry because you locked them down the whole game or beat their face with your 10/10 trampler. These competitive formats favor the power cards and generally require a substantial investment.

With Commander, the game is about having fun and being social. With it being a multi-player game, there is a lot of table talk and politicking ("ooh, he played XY card, you know what that means? It means you should totally attack him. NO, I won't attack you if you are tapped out. Trust me!"). As the founder of the format says, "Commander is about creating games that you’d love to remember, not the ones others would like to forget.” More on the philosophy of the format can be found here: http://forums.mtgsalvation.com/showthread.php?t=309991

So what IS Commander?